Shining a light on communication

School are invited to enter the Shine a Light Awards 2017, to recognise the contributions of those who support children and young people’s speech, language and communication. 

The Communication Trust and Pearson joined forces to launch the fifth Shine a Light Awards to reward teams, settings and individuals across England working in the field of communication. 

The awards feature 10 categories and includes a new award for SEN School, or Group of the Year, highlighting the exceptional work carried out in SEND schools and colleges across the country.

Other categories include:
•  Early Years Setting of the Year Award 
•  Primary School of the Year Award 
• Secondary School or College of the Year Award 
• The Communication Commitment School of the Year Award 
• Young Person of the Year Award 
• SLCN Innovation Award 
• Communication Champion Award 
• Augmentative and Alternative Communication Award 
• Pearson Outstanding Achievement Award

Octavia Holland, director of The Communication Trust, said: “All children and young people deserve the opportunity to develop good speech, language and communication skills so they can thrive and make friends. 

“The Shine a Light Awards gives individuals, teams, settings and young people a unique opportunity to shout about their achievements and for this best practice to be recognised across the sector.

“Last year’s applications were outstanding. The awards show how lives can be enriched with dedication and commitment, particularly for the one million children and young people with long-term speech, language and communication needs. If it is your time to shine, we look forward to receiving your application.”

Chris Hall, director of clinical assessment at Pearson, said: “The continued popularity of the awards proves how much is being achieved across the country to support young people with speech, language and communication, and this work is too often unrecognised.”

The awards were launched during the National Year of Communication in 2011. To date, they have celebrated the work of over 98 teams and individuals, including young people with severe and complex speech, language and SLCN.

The awards website is now open for applications. For details on how to apply visit Applications close at 11:59 pm on the 12 January 2017.

November 17, 2016

Add new comment

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.